Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
search this website
search this website

Lehman College Logo Click Here to go back to Homepage

History Department at Lehman College

Faculty

The History Department has fourteen full-time faculty and two emeritus faculty, as well as a number of graduate teaching fellows and adjunct instructors. Historians in the Departments of Latin American, Latino & Puerto Rican Studies and African and African American Studies also regularly cross-list their courses in the History Department (Check out a list of Affiliated Faculty).

Timothy Alborn

AlbornE-mail Address: timothy.alborn@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2267
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: TU 3:30-6:00
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Martin Burke

BurkeE-mail Address: martin.burke@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8286
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours: email only (not teaching at Lehman Fall 2019)
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., City Coll. of New York; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Michigan
More Info...

Joseph Dauben

DaubenE-mail Address: jdauben@att.net
Phone Number: 718-960-8285
Office: Carman Hall, Room 293
Office Hours: by appointment (not teaching at Lehman Fall 2019)
Rank: Distinguished Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Claremont Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Sean Griffin


E-mail Address: sean.griffin@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7243
Office: Carman Hall, Room 296
Office Hours: W 4:00-5:00
Rank: Substitute Assistant Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: Ph.D., CUNY Graduate Center

Dina Le Gall

Le Gall
E-mail Address: dina.legall@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7713
Office: Carman Hall, Room 295
Office Hours: T/TH 10:30-11:00 AM, TH 1:00-2:00 PM and by appointment
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Tel Aviv Univ.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

 

Marie C. Marianetti, Chair

marianettiE-mail Address: marie.marianetti@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7802
Office: Carman Hall, Room 202B
Office Hours: M/TU/ W 9:00-6:00; TH 9:00-2:00
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., M.A., California State Univ.; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Southern California
More Info...

Jose L. Rénique, Graduate Adviser

ReniqueE-mail Address: jrenique@aol.com
Phone Number: 718-960-4998
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: W 11:15-12:15 PM
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Universidad Católica del Pení; M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Andrew W. Robertson

RobertsonE-mail Address: andrew.robertson@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7712
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours: TU 3:30-4:30 PM
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A. Franklin and Marshall Coll.; D.Phil. Oxford Univ.
More Info...

Robyn Spencer

SpencerE-mail Address: robyn.spencer@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2268
Office: Carman Hall, Room 299
Office Hours: M 5:00-6:00 PM, TU 9:00-9:30 AM, 12:15-1:35 PM
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Robert T. Valentine, Undergraduate Adviser

valentineE-mail Address: robert.valentine@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8275
Office: Carman Hall-299
Office Hours: M 1:45-2:30 and 5:30-6:00 PM, W 1:45-2:30 PM, advising hours TH 11:00-2:00
Rank: Lecturer
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., The Citadel; M.A., Fordham Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of South Carolina
More Info...

William Wooldridge

wooldridgeE-mail Address: william.wooldridge@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8287
Office: Carman Hall-296
Office Hours: T/TH 2:00-3:00 PM, TU 5:30-6:00 PM and by appointment
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Swarthmore Coll.; M.A., Univ. of Washington, Seattle; Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Amanda Wunder

E-mail Address: amanda.wunder@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-1896
Office: Carman Hall-294
Office Hours: TU 2:00-3:00 PM
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Wesleyan Univ..; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
More Info...

Emeritus Faculty

Evelyn Ackerman

AckermanE-mail address: evelyn.ackerman@lehman.cuny.edu
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Radcliffe Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Martin Duberman

DubermanE-mail Address: n/a
Phone Number: n/a 
Rank: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Yale Univ.; Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
More Info...

Duane Tananbaum

TananbaumE-mail Address: duane.tananbaum@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7714
Office: Carman Hall-294
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Cornell Univ.; M.A., M.Phil., Columbia Univ.
More Info...

Ruth Zerner

E-mail Address: ruth.zerner@lehman.cuny.edu
Rank: Associate Professor Emerita
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Hunter Coll.; M.A., Stanford Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of California, Berkeley

In Memoriam

Cindy Lobel

Professor Lobel passed away on October 2, 2018. Please click here to read her obituary.