Contact Us


The MACBS is the Mid-Atlantic regional affiliate of the North American Conference on British Studies. The 2017 MACBS conference was held at the University of Maryland in College Park on the weekend of April 1-2.  George Robb, a past president of MACBS, delivered the plenary address, on "The British Assault on American Neutrality during World War I."   We also featured a plenary panel on "British History After Brexit," featuring Dane Kennedy, Alison Games, Dinyar Patel, and Zara Anishanslin. The MACB co-hosted the well-attended NACBS conference in Washington, DC, this past November.  Click here for an archive of past conferences.

We are pleased to report that the conference will return to College Park in 2018: it will be held on April 7 and 8, the weekend following Easter. Click here for information about submitting papers or sessions, and for how to register for the conference.

Graduate Student Reseach Travel Award

The MACBS is pleased to announce the 2017 winners of the Graduate Student Research Travel Award:

Marga Andersen, American University (Advisor: Laura Beers), for research on her dissertation, "Like Lions After Slumber: Challenges to Britishness by Jewish and Irish Immigrants in Late-Victorian London” ($500)

David G. Reagles, Drew University (Advisor: Jonathan Rose), for research on his dissertation, "Letters to Malcolm: Textual Communities and Religious Culture, ca. 1964-1982” ($500)

The deadline for submission for next year's award is February 1, 2018; available funds for the prize will be $2000 starting next year. The dissertation advisor of the student must be a member of the MACBS and award winners will be expected to present a paper at the MACBS conference following their research travel. Click here for more details.

Graduate Student Paper Prize

In 2011 MACBS inaugurated a new $250 prize for graduate students who read papers at its annual conference. The 2017 winner was Amanda Perry, a Ph.D. candidate at Catholic University, for her paper "Tactical Fashion: Uniforms, Identity, and Power in Interwar Iraq." Click here for a list of previous winners and to find out how to enter.  The winner for the 2017 conference will be announced soon.

MACBS Officers

Program chairs (2018 conference):

Nicholas Popper, Department of History, College of William & Mary:
Katie Hindmarch-Watson, Department of History, Johns Hopkins University:


Membership dues are $15. Our conference registration fee includes payment of dues. If you did not attend the 2017 conference but would like to maintain your membership in MACBS, please send a check (made out to the Mid-Atlantic Conference on British Studies) to Timothy Alborn, Department of History, Lehman College, 250 Bedford Park Blvd West, Bronx, NY 10468. Your dues contribute to our ability to fund graduate student travel and research.

Useful links:

Text Only Version of Site | Make This Website Talk