Department of Earth, Environmental, and Geospatial Sciences

 

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Stefan Becker
Rank: Professor; Acting Dean, Natural and Social Sciences
Office: New Science Building, Room 1403
Phone: 718-960-8764
E-mail: stefan.becker@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: climatology, severe weather, environmental pollution, environmental modeling
More info

Yuri Gorokhovich
Rank: Assistant Professor, Department Chairperson
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 301A
Phone: 718-960-1981
E-mail: yuri.gorokhovich@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: geology, natural hazards and disasters, spatial modeling with GIS, geoarchaeology
More info

Marzie Jafari
Rank: Assistant Professor
Office: Carman Hall, Room 128/129
Phone: 718-960-4681
E-mail: marzie.jafari@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: regional geography, Middle East, GIS in business and marketing, adult education, workforce education
More info

Glen Johnson
Rank: Associate Professor, Department of Health Sciences
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 413
Phone: 718-960-8670
E-mail: glen.johnson@lehman.cuny.edu

More info

Irene Leung
Rank: Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 318
Phone: 718-960-8572
E-mail: irene.leung@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: mineralogy, petrology, diamonds, meteorites & planetary science
More info

Juliana Maantay
Rank: Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 325
Phone: 718-960-8574
E-mail: juliana.maantay@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: environmental health justice, medical geography, geographic information science, urban environmental analysis, sustainable community-based development, participatory geographic information systems
More info

Elia Machado
Rank:
Assistant Professor
Office:
Gillet Hall, Room 307C
Phone:
718-960-1103
E-mail:
elia.machado@lehman.cuny.edu

 

Andrew Maroko
Rank: Assistant Professor, Department of Health Sciences
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 323
Phone: 718-960-1830
E-mail: andrew.maroko@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: health geographics, medical geography, environmental justice, environmental health, exposure assessment, spatial analysis, geographic information science

Hari Pant
Rank: Assistant Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309A
Phone: 718-960-5859
E-mail: hari.pant@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: biogeochemical cycles, sediment/water quality, ecological indicators, global change
More info

Fred Shaw
Rank: Professor Emeritus
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309
Phone: 718-960-8565
E-mail: fcshaw@verizon.net
More info

Heather Sloan
Rank: Associate Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 307B
Phone: 718-960-8008
E-mail: heather.sloan@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: marine geophysics, seafloor morphology, plate kinematics, Earth Science Education
More info

Adjunct Instructors and Research Assistants

William Bosworth
Rank: Scientist in Residence
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 302
Phone: 718-960-8465
E-mail: william.bosworth@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: using census data to highlight social problems in a major urban area
More info

Jingyu Wang
Rank: Scientist in Residence
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 302
Phone: 718-960-8768
E-mail: jingyu.wang@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: environmental science, phosphorus transport, water contamination, water quality, earth science, physical geography
More info

Gretchen M. Culp
EES doctoral student, geography, health geographics and GISc concentrations, Adjunct instructor
Interests: cartography, color vision confusion, visualization of public health data, and urban geography

Holly Porter Morgan
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor, LaGuardia Community College, Program Director for Environmental Sciences; Research Associate, New York Botanical Garden

E-mail: hporter-morgan@lagcc.cuny.edu
Interests: confluence of plant science, spatial analyses, and conservation, biogeographic and computational models that combine herbarium specimen data with climate and environmental data in a GIS environment to predict the distributions of rare and threatened plants

Rachael Weiss
DPH doctoral student, Epidemiology concentration
Interests: neighborhood determinants of healthy active aging including both perceived and objective measures of the social and built environment

Jennifer Brisbane
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Interests: historical GIS; environmental justice; spatial analysis; mobile GIS application development

Zakkiyyah Shah
Geography Major, GISc Program, NOAA-CREST Fellow, USDA Research Fellow, Urban GISc lab, GISc Lab Tutor
Interests: urban agriculture and sustainability; empowering urban communities through improved food security, nutrition, and health, and economically empowering women, the formerly incarcerated, and other disadvantaged groups, geographic distribution of released prisoners and mapping the factors that influence the success or failure of reentry

Lesley Patrick
EES Doctoral candidate, Geography and GIS concentrations; NOAA-CREST Fellow
Interests: urban environmental analysis, flood hazard mapping, climate change impacts, GIS/GISc, spatial analysis, geology

Jose Pillich
EES Doctoral candidate, Geography concentration; Graduate Teaching Fellow
Interests: green infrastructure, GIS, sustainability & food

Eric Kutter
EES Doctoral candidate, Geography concentration; Graduate Teaching Fellow

Marlene Nava Ramos
EES Doctoral candidate, Graduate teaching fellow
E-mail: mramos@gc.cuny.edu
Interests: Geography of immigration enforcement, environmental health and resilience, and community-based participatory research

College Laboratory Technician

Brian Morgan
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 322a
Phone: 718-960-5742
E-mail: brian.morgan@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: psychogeography, aesthetics and radical cartography, the geography of 20th Century culture, art, and literature, historical mapping, cartography as art

Administrative Staff

Gail Markbreit
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 315
Phone: 718-960-8660
Fax: 718 960 8584
E-mail: gail.markbreit@lehman.cuny.edu

Last modified: Jul 30, 2014

  • Department News
  • Jobs and Internships
Text Only Version of Site | Make This Website Talk