Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation

Give to Lehman

Lehman College

Department of Earth Environmental and Geospatial Sciences

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Stefan Becker

Stefan BeckerRank: Professor, Vice Provost for Academic Programs
Office: Shuster Hall, Room 302A
Phone: 718-960-1120
E-mail: stefan.becker@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Climatology, severe weather, environmental pollution, environmental modeling
More info  

Yuri Gorokhovich

Yuri GorokhovichRank: Associate Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 301A
Phone: 718-960-1981
E-mail: yuri.gorokhovich@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Geology, natural hazards and disasters, spatial modeling with GIS, geoarchaeology 
More info

Glen Johnson

Glen JohnsonRank: Associate Professor, Graduate School of Public Health & Health Policy
Phone: 646-364-9518
E-mail: glen.johnson@sph.cuny.edu
More Info



 Irene Leung 

Irene LeungRank: Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 318
Phone: 718-960-8572
E-mail: irene.leung@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Mineralogy, petrology, diamonds, meteorites & planetary science 
More info

Juliana Maantay

Juliana MaantayRank: Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 325
Phone: 718-960-8574 
E-mail: juliana.maantay@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Environmental health justice, medical geography, geographic information science, urban environmental analysis, sustainable community-based development, participatory geographic information systems
More info

Elia Machado

Elia MachadoRank: Assistant Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 323
Phone: 718-960-1103
E-mail: elia.machado@lehman.cuny.edu

More info


Andrew Maroko

Andrew MarokoRank: Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Public Health & Health Policy
Phone: 646-364-9508
E-mail: andrew.maroko@sph.cuny.edu
Interests: Health geographics, medical geography, environmental justice, environmental health, exposure assessment, spatial analysis, geographic information science

Hari Pant

Hari PantRank: Assistant Professor, Department Chairperson
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309A
Phone: 718-960-5859
E-mail: hari.pant@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Biogeochemical cycles, sediment/water quality, ecological indicators, global change
More info

Gautam Sen

Gautam SenRank: Professor, Dean of School of Natural & Social Sciences
Office: Science Hall, Room 1403
Phone: 718-960-8764
E-mail: gautam.sen@lehman.cuny.edu
More info

Fred Shaw

Fred ShawRank: Professor Emeritus
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309
Phone: 718-960-8565
E-mail: fcshaw@verizon.net
More info

Heather Sloan

Heather SloanRank: Associate Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 307B
Phone: 718-960-8008
E-mail: heather.sloan@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Marine geophysics, seafloor morphology, plate kinematics, Earth Science Education
More info

Adjunct Instructors and Research Assistants

Holly Porter Morgan

Holly Porter MorganAdjunct Associate Professor
Associate Professor, LaGuardia Community College, Program Director for Environmental Sciences; Research Associate, New York Botanical Garden
E-mail: hporter-morgan@lagcc.cuny.edu
Interests: Confluence of plant science, spatial analyses, and conservation, biogeographic and computational models that combine herbarium specimen data with climate and environmental data in a GIS environment to predict the distributions of rare and threatened plants

Frank Donnelly

Frank DonnellyAdjunct Associate Professor
Geospatial Data Librarian, Baruch College
E-mail: francis.donnelly@baruch.cuny.edu
Interests: Open source GIS, US Census data, data librarianship, the geography of public libraries. More Info


Gary Ostroff

Gary OstroffAdjunct Lecturer, MS-GISc Advisory Board
Interests: Data representation, urban history and cartography, surveying, infrastructure planning and management, climate change and urban settlements, sea level rise, drainage engineering


Amelia Zaino

Amelia ZainoAdjunct lecturer
Interests: Environmental education, environmental stewardship, historical ecology, urban planning



Gretchen M. Culp

Gretchen M. CulpEES Doctoral student, geography, health geographics and GISc concentrations, Adjunct instructor
Interests: Cartography, color vision confusion, visualization of public health data, and urban geography



Jose Pillich

Jose PillichEES Doctoral candidate, Geography concentration; Adjunct instructor
Interests: Green infrastructure, GIS, sustainability & food






Angelika Winner

Angelika WinnerDoctoral Program, Earth Sciences and Geography, Adjunct instructor 
Interests: Sustainable agriculture and alternative food movements, international political economy of food, politics of obesity, environmental health, political ecology, race and food, critical human geography, and participatory GIS



Rose Jimenez

Rose JimenezNOAA-CREST Research Fellow; Earth & Environmental Sciences Doctoral Student
Research Interests: Green Infrastructure, Urban Agriculture, Critical Geographies
E-Mail: rjimenez@gradcenter.cuny.edu
More info


College Laboratory Technician

Brian Morgan

Brian MorganRank: Senior College Laboratory Technician
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 322A
Phone: 718-960-5742
E-mail: brian.morgan@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Psychogeography, aesthetics and radical cartography, the geography of 20th Century culture, art, and literature, historical mapping, cartography as art.
More Info

Administrative Staff

Gail Markbreit

Gail MarkbreitOffice: Gillet Hall, Room 315
Phone: 718-960-8660
Fax: 718 960 8584
E-mail: gail.markbreit@lehman.cuny.edu