Year in Photos, 2008-2009

Photo Captions

The Arts

Bronx Hall of Justice
'Viñoly in the Bronx' was a featured exhibit in the Lehman Art Gallery.

'Medea,' with deaf actor Ryan Grant in the lead role, was one of four plays produced by the Theatre Program.

Michael Bacon
Musician and composer Michael Bacon ('95, B.A.) was a featured guest on Professor William Hoffman's 'Conversations' series.

Special Events

Science Building Ground Breaking
Lehman broke ground on the first new building In CUNY's 'Decade of Science.'

Kevin and Michael Bacon
Michael Bacon (right), performing with his brother Kevin, was one of two honorees at the Lehman Leadership Gala. The event also honored Al Carey, president and CEO of Frito-Lay.

Jatinder Singh Komal and Suzette Ramsundar
In recognition of the College's fortieth anniversary, fifteen black-and-white photographs highlighting the history of Lehman and the Bronx were installed in various campus locations.

CUNY's Task Force on Sustainability recognized Lehman's long-standing commitment to the environment with a 2008 Sustainability Award.

"Inside Lehman IX," produced by the Department of Journalism, Communication, and Theatre, was nominated for an Emmy Award.

Willa Ivory, Amanda Dubois, Lianee and Olga Torres, Maladu Bah, and Shomari Brown.
Lehman was named to the President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll for exemplary service to America's communities for efforts like this clean-up project at the Gansevoort Peninsula.

Teaches at High School of American Studies
U.S. News & World Report rated the High School of American Studies at Lehman College #1 in the Bronx, #2 in New York City and New York State, and #29 in the nation.

Mother and Daughter
Members of the Alumni Board of Directors celebrate Lehman's 40th Anniversary Alumni Reunion, held at Marina del Rey in the Bronx, on May 28

Guest Lecturers

Frank Espada, Ricardo R. Fernández, and Carlos Ortiz
Noted documentary photographer Frank Espada (l.) was honored at Lehman's Convocation. Speaking at the event was alumnus Carlos Ortiz (r.), vice president and general counsel of Goya Foods.

Robert T. Johnson
The Center for Urban Male Leadership at Lehman hosted the first of its new "Speaker Series" with Bronx D.A. Robert T. Johnson.

Steve Mirsky
Steve Mirsky '85, science editor of Scientific American, delivered Lehman's 29th annual Sweeny Memorial Lecture.

Jill Abramson
New York Times managing editor Jill Abramson delivered the 40th Annual Lehman Lecture.

Lewis R. Gordon
Dr. Lewis R. Gordon ('84, B.A.), Laura H. Carnell Professor of Philosophy at Temple University, delivered the keynote address at Lehman's annual Phi Beta Kappa induction.

Student Accomplishments

Justin Simmons
Sophomore Justin Simmons was selected this year as one of only four Kenan Scholars in CUNY's Macaulay Honors College.

Blanca Cambi
Lehman senior Blanca Cambi was one of nine students nationwide to receive Vanguard's 2008 Women in Information Technology Scholarship Award.

Jo-Ann Winter
Dennis Kim
Keith Lewis
Three Lehman students—Jo-Ann Winter, Dennis Kim, and Keith Lewis—were selected to participate in CUNY's new Leadership Academy.

Jocelyne Jeannot
Sushanta Singha
Lehman sophomore Jocelyne Jeannot and freshman Sushanta Singha were named Jeannette K. Watson Fellows.

Faculty Achievements

Crimean War Scene
Professor Terry Towery (Art) received an Honorable Mention in Center's 2008 Excellence in Photographic Teaching competition.

William M. Hoffman
Lehman Journalism, Communication, and Theatre Professor William M. Hoffman received an ASCAPLUS Award for the sixth consecutive year.

David Lavin
Lehman Sociology Professor David Lavin (l.) and CUNY Graduate Center Sociology Professor Paul Attewell received the American Educational Research Association's Book of the Year award.

John Corigliano
Distinguished Professor of Music John Corigliano won another Grammy Award for Best Classical Contemporary Composition.

Patricio Lerzundi
CUNY-TV won an Emmy Award in the Magazine Program category for its series Nueva York, which Professor Patricio Lerzundi (chair, Journalism, Communication, and Theatre) co-hosts.


2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Ricardo R. Fernandez
President Fernández addresses the Class of 2009.

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Jay Hershenson
CUNY Senior Vice Chancellor Jay Hershenson

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Carol Robles-Roman
CUNY Trustee Carol Robles-Roman

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Anthony Weiner
Congressman Anthony Weiner

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

William M. Wheeler
Former Tuskegee Airman William M. Wheeler was awarded an Honorary Degree.

José E. Serrano
Congressman José E. Serrano

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

William C. Thompson, Jr.
NYC Comptroller William C. Thompson, Jr.

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Rubén Diaz, Jr.
Bronx Borough President Rubén Diaz, Jr.

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Yolanda Alvarez
Student Speaker Yolanda Alvarez

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Terrence Cheng and Ricardo R. Fernandez
Teacher of the Year, Professor Terrence Cheng (English)

Vevekanand Madho and Ricardo R. Fernandez
Adjunct Teacher of the Year Professor Vevekanand "Vic" Madho (Counseling, Leadership, Literacy, and Special Education)

Lorraine Cortés-Vásquez
Commencement Speaker Hon. Lorraine Cortés-Vásquez

Marion Somers and Ricardo R. Fernandez
Dr. Marion Somers ('80, M.A.) received the Alumni Achievement award.

Jonathan I. Rosenblatt
Rabbi Dr. Jonathan I. Rosenblatt

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

Anne Rothstein and Mary Papazian
Grand Marshall Professor Anne Rothstein (Early Childhood & Childhood Education) and Provost Mary Papazian lead the faculty procession.

2009 Graduates
2009 Graduates

View Video

View Transcript