Enabling javascript will improve the functionality of this page. skip to content
Lehman College

Catalog search

Catalog links

print page

Examination Requirements for Initial Certification

Undergraduate candidates who seek an initial teacher certification are required to pass four tests: (a) the Academic Literacy Skills Test (ALST), (b) Teacher Performance Assessments (TPA), (c) Educating All Students test (EAS), (d) Revised Content Specialty Test (CST). Candidates must also attend two workshops on School Violence Prevention and Child Abuse Identification. These tests and workshops are offered by the New York State Teacher Certification Examination (NYSTCE) program.

Note: Candidates who complete their degrees and apply for an initial certificate on or before April 30, 2014 may choose to take the current teacher certification examinations: (a) the Liberal Arts and Sciences Test (LAST), (b) the Assessment of Teaching Skills—Written (ATS-W), and (c) the Content Specialty Test (CST).

Note: All initial certificates require completion of New York State workshops. To learn more about these workshops, visit http://eservices.nysed.gov/teach/certhelp/CertRequirementHelp.do. Preparation workshops are offered at Lehman College through the School of Continuing and Professional Studies (SCPS). Check in the SCPS Office located in Room 128 of Carman Hall (718-960-8666) for the dates and times of these sessions.

Last modified: 9/3/2014