Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
search this website
search this website

Lehman College Logo Click Here to go back to Homepage

History Department at Lehman College

Faculty

The History Department has thirteen full-time faculty and five emeritus faculty, as well as a number of graduate teaching fellows and adjunct instructors. Historians in the Departments of Latin American and Latino Studies and Africanna Studies also regularly cross-list their courses with the History Department's courses (see a list of Affiliated Faculty).

Timothy Alborn

E-mail Address: timothy.alborn@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2267
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
Profile

Martin Burke

BurkeE-mail Address: martin.burke@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8286
Office: Carman Hall, Room 297
Office Hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., City Coll. of New York; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Michigan
Profile

Joseph Dauben

DaubenE-mail Address: jdauben@att.net
Phone Number: 718-960-8285
Office: Carman Hall, Room 293
Office Hours
Rank: Distinguished Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Claremont Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
Profile

Rhiannon Dowling

Email Address: Rhiannon.Dowling@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: TBA
Office: TBA
Rank: Assistant Professor
Office Hours
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., St. John's College; M.A., UMBC; Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Profile

Benjamin Holtzman

Email Address: Benjamin.Holtzman@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: TBA
Office: TBA
Rank: Assistant Professor
Office Hours
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Vassar College; Ph.D., Brown Univ.
Profile

Dina Le Gall

Le Gall E-mail Address: dina.legall@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7713
Office: Carman Hall, Room 295
Office Hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Tel Aviv Univ.; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
Profile

Marie C. Marianetti, Chair

E-mail Address: marie.marianetti@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7802
Office: Carman Hall, Room 202B
Office Hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees: B.A., M.A., California State Univ.; M.A., Ph.D., Univ. of Southern California
Profile

Jose L. Rénique

ReniqueE-mail Address: jrenique@aol.com
Phone Number: 718-960-4998
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours
Rank: Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Universidad Católica del Pení; M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
Profile

Andrew W. Robertson

RobertsonE-mail Address: andrew.robertson@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7712
Office: Carman Hall, Room 298
Office Hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A. Franklin and Marshall Coll.; D.Phil. Oxford Univ.
Profile

Robyn Spencer

SpencerE-mail Address: robyn.spencer@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-2268
Office: Carman Hall, Room 299
Office Hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: Ph.D., Columbia Univ.
Profile

Robert T. Valentine, Undergraduate Adviser

valentineE-mail Address: robert.valentine@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8275
Office: Carman Hall-299
Office Hours
Rank: Lecturer
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., The Citadel; M.A., Fordham Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of South Carolina
Profile

William Wooldridge

wooldridgeE-mail Address: william.wooldridge@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-8287
Office: Carman Hall-296
Office Hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Swarthmore Coll.; M.A., Univ. of Washington, Seattle; Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
Profile

Amanda Wunder, Graduate Adviser

E-mail Address: amanda.wunder@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-1896
Office: Carman Hall-294
Office Hours
Rank: Associate Professor
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Wesleyan Univ..; M.A., Ph.D., Princeton Univ.
Profle

Emeritus Faculty

Evelyn Ackerman

AckermanE-mail address: evelyn.ackerman@lehman.cuny.edu
Rank: Professor Emerita
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Radcliffe Coll.; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
Profile

Martin Duberman

DubermanE-mail Address: n/a
Phone Number: n/a 
Rank: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Yale Univ.; Ph.D., Harvard Univ.
Profile

Jacob Judd

E-mail Address: n/a
Phone Number: n/a 
Rank: Professor Emeritus
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A. and Ph.D., New York University

Duane Tananbaum

TananbaumE-mail Address: duane.tananbaum@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone Number: 718-960-7714
Office: Carman Hall-294
Rank: Professor Emeritus
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: B.A., Cornell Univ.; M.A., M.Phil., Columbia Univ.
Profile

Ruth Zerner

E-mail Address: ruth.zerner@lehman.cuny.edu
Rank: Associate Professor Emerita
Degrees and Sources of Degrees: A.B., Hunter Coll.; M.A., Stanford Univ.; Ph.D., Univ. of California, Berkeley

 

In Memorium

Cindy Lobel

Professor Lobel passed away on October 2, 2018. See here for her obituary.