Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation

Give to Lehman

Lehman College

Instructional Support Services Program/Tutoring

Academic Center for Excellence (ACE): Humanities, Social Sciences, and Writing Tutoring

Academic Center for Excellence (ACE)

What We Do

The Academic Center for Excellence (ACE) offers workshops and tutoring for undergraduate and graduate students seeking to improve their skills in writing, social sciences, and humanities subject areas. We can provide weekly, or one-time, individual appointments with a tutor, and we also offer walk-in tutoring in writing, and for social sciences and humanities courses. Walk-in tutoring hours vary by semester and are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Location & Hours

The ACE is located in the Old Gym Building, Room 205. The ACE's phone number is 718-960-8175.

Fall and Spring Semesters Hours

Regular tutoring hours during the fall and spring semesters are the following:

  • Monday-Thursday 10 a.m.-7 p.m
  • Saturday 10 a.m.-2 p.m

Areas of Tutoring

Tutors are generally available in the following subject areas:

  • Accounting
  • Art History
  • Business Administration
  • Economics
  • English
  • French
  • History
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Linguistics
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Psychology
  • Reading
  • Spanish
  • Speech Pathology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Statistics for Psychology
  • Writing, reading, and research for any course

See our FAQ page for answers to general questions about tutoring.

Apply for a Tutor

Come by room 205 of the Old Gym Building any time during our regular hours to fill out a tutor request form. You can also complete our Tutor Appointment Request Form to request an appointment with an academic coach, social sciences, humanities, or writing tutor.

Online Tutoring

The ACE and SLC offer online tutoring in writing and in various Humanities, Natural and Social Science courses. For more information about online tutoring, click here.

Workshops

We offer free workshops in a variety of areas including writing and academic skills. For the complete current schedule of ISSP workshops, see below. To register for a workshop, please call (718) 960-8175.

Wait, what did I just read? Strategies for Reading Difficult Texts

This workshop will help you develop strategic ways of reading various types of texts, including scholarly research. Location: To be announced.

  • Saturday, September 29, 10:30 am-12:00 pm
  • Wednesday, October 17, 3:30 pm-5:00 pm
  • Tuesday, October 23, 5:30 pm-7:00 pm
  • Monday, November 5, 11:00 am-12:30 pm

Paraphrasing and Summarizing: Tools You Can't Live Without

This workshop offers a review of paraphrasing and summarizing, essential tools writers use in research-based writing. You will practice using each with a sample text and receive feedback on their own work. We will address how careful use of these tools helps us avoid plagiarism. Registration required. Location: To be announced.

  • Thursday, September 20, 6:00 pm-7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, October 3, 3:30 pm-5:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 20, 10:00 am-11:50 am
  • Monday, November 19, 11:00 am-12:30 pm

APA Citation Format

This 60-minute workshop reviews the basics of APA citation format, with brief attention to other citation formats. Registration required. Location: To be announced.

  • Wednesday, September 19, 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, September 27, 3:00 pm
  • Monday, October 22, 11:00 am
  • Wednesday, November 14, 6:00 pm

Effective Writing

A new workshop series highlights the basics of clear, concise writing. Each session is different. Registration required. Tuesdays, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm. Special Saturday “Boot Camp” session: 11/10 10:00 am-1:00 pm. Location: Carman Hall, B-75. Meeting dates:

  • Tuesday, September 25, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, October 2, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, October 9, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, October 16, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, October 23, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, October 30, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, November 6, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, November 13, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, November 20, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, November 27, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, December 4, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm

Writing the Personal Statement

This workshop will cover the basics for crafting effective personal statements for internships, graduate programs, and more. Bring your personal statement or graduate school application essay draft. Registration required. Location: Carman Hall, B75.

  • Friday, November 2, 12:00 pm-1:30 pm

WEEKLY English Conversation Group

Come practice your English language skills at the ACE! This weekly group provides a fun way to develop conversational skills with fellow students. We'll read short texts together as well. All students are welcome. No advance registration required. Location: Old Gym, 205. Come by and converse!

Wednesdays, 12:00 pm-1:00 pm.

First session on Wednesday, September 26th.  Last session on Wednesday, December 5th.
The conversation group will not meet on November 21st.

Open Writing Fridays at the ACE

Drop by the ACE computer lab in Old Gym Building room 205 on select Friday afternoons to work on your paper and receive feedback from a tutor. No registration required.

  • Friday, September 28, 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Friday, October 12, 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Friday, October 26, 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Friday, November 16, 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Friday, November 30, 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Friday, December 7, 10:00 am-12:00 pm

Introduction to Academic Writing

 This workshop provides an overview of the research writing process. Tips on project planning, creating a framework for your ideas, working ethically with sources, and more. Academic conventions in different disciplines will be addressed. Students in all fields are welcome. Registration Required. Location to be announced.  

  • Wednesday, November 7, 4:00 pm-6:00 pm (Undergrads)
  • Monday, November 12, 2:00 pm-4:00 pm (Graduate Students)

Paraphrasing and Summarizing: Tools You Can't Live Without

This workshop offers a review of paraphrasing and summarizing, essential tools writers use in research-based writing. You will practice using each with a sample text and receive feedback on their own work. We will address how careful use of these tools helps us avoid plagiarism. Registration required. Location: To be announced.

  • Wednesday, February 21, 3:30 pm-5:00 pm
  •  Tuesday, March 13, 6:00 pm-7:30 pm
  • Saturday, March 24, 10:00 am-1:00 pm
  • Thursday, April 12, 11:00 am-12:30 pm

APA Citation Format

This 60-minute workshop reviews the basics of APA citation format, with brief attention to other citation formats. Registration required. Location: To be announced.

  • Tuesday, February 20, 4:00 pm-5:00 pm
  • Thursday, March 1, 6:00 pm-7:00 pm
  • Monday, March 12, 11:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 21, 4:00 pm-5:00 pm
  • Saturday, April 14, 12:00 pm-1:00 pm

Effective Writing

A new workshop series highlights the basics of clear, concise writing. Each session is different. Registration required. Tuesdays, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm. Location: Carman Hall, B-75. Meeting dates:

  • Tuesday, February 13, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, February 20, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, February 27, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, March 6, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, March 20, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, March 27, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, April 10, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, April 17, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm
  • Tuesday, April 24, 12:00 pm-12:50 pm

Reading and Writing About Data

In this workshop, we will examine examples of texts describing and interpreting data, then practice analyzing and writing about information presented in charts or graphs. Registration Required. Location: Carman Hall, B75.

  • Monday, March 19, 6:00 pm-7:30 pm

Writing the Personal Statement

This workshop will cover the basics for crafting effective personal statements for internships, graduate programs, and more. Bring your personal statement or graduate school application essay draft. Registration required. Location: Carman Hall, B75.

  • Friday, February 16, 12:00 pm-1:30 pm

Facilitated Group Sessions

Taking a class requiring a research paper? As an alternative to 1-on-1 tutoring, you can come to the ACE with one or more classmates for group tutoring. Call us at (718)-960-8175 for more info. Dates/Times to be determined based on participants’ availability.

WEEKLY English Conversation Group

Come practice your English language skills at the ACE! This weekly group provides a fun way to develop conversational skills with fellow students. We'll read short texts together as well. All students are welcome. No advance registration required. Location: Old Gym, 308. Come by and converse!

Wednesdays, 4:00 pm-5:00 pm.

  • First session on Wednesday, February 14th.
  • Last session on Wednesday, April 25th.

The College's Counseling Center offers different workshops to help students improve their motivation, study and test taking skills.

Strategies for Success

This workshop series is for all students who want to achieve more, in college and in life. Come to as many workshops as you wish. Registration Required. Location to be announced.  

  • Wednesday, February 14, 3:30 pm-5:00 pm (Goal-Setting and Time Management)
  • Wednesday, February 28, 3:30 pm-5:00 pm (Studying Effectively)
  • Wednesday, March 14, 3:30 pm-5:00 pm (Productivity Apps for Enhanced Success)
  • Wednesday, March 28, 3:30 pm-5:00 pm (Planning for Finals)

Open Fridays at the ACE

Drop by the ACE computer lab in Old Gym Building room 205 on select Friday afternoons to work on your paper and receive feedback from a tutor. No registration required.

  • Friday, February 23, 12:00 pm-2:00 pm
  • Friday, March 2, 12:00 pm-2:00 pm
  • Friday, March 23, 12:00 pm-2:00 pm
  • Friday, April 13, 12:00 pm-2:00 pm
  • Friday, April 20, 12:00 pm-2:00 pm
  • Friday, May 4, 12:00 pm-2:00 pm

CUNY Assessment Tests

Please see the Testing Office website for more information about testing policies and procedures. For general information about the CUNY Assessment Tests in reading, writing, and math, see the official CUNY website.

Please contact the Mathematics Department's Math Lab (718-960-8878) if you require tutoring for the CUNY Assessment Test in Mathematics.