Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
search this website
search this website

Lehman College Logo Click Here to go back to Homepage

CLLSE

During the Coronavirus (COVID-19) the Department of Counseling, Leadership, Literacy and Special Education continues to remain open via our remote office:  (845) 580-4154. 

School of Education (SOE) offices and support services also continue to be available remotely.

From the Chair, Dr. Janet DeSimone

Janet DeSimoneWelcome to the Department of Counseling, Leadership, Literacy, and Special Education. Our department houses a variety of outstanding and unique graduate degree programs in counselor education, organizational and educational leadership, literacy studies and special education, with each culminating in a master’s degree or an advanced certificate and most leading to New York State Certification.

Our programs integrate practice with theory and are guided by the School of Education's Lehman Urban Teacher, Counselor, Administrator Education (LUTE) conceptual framework. Extensive student teaching and/or field-based experiences are central throughout our programs. Students are expected to develop their skills and capacities as teachers, counselors and/or educational and organizational leaders through both on-campus and work-based experiences, with current practitioners in schools, districts, nonprofits and/or community-based organizations. Our programs also emphasize action research, using data to identify and close educational gaps and require students to apply the knowledge, skills and dispositions acquired throughout their coursework to develop solutions to classroom, school and organizational problems.

Our faculty are committed to excellence in scholarship and teaching and are recognized for their work with Bronx and urban schools, districts nonprofits and other community organizations and strive to provide transformational learning experiences for our graduate students. They are experienced in meeting the needs of adult learners and are dedicated to mentoring, motivating and supporting our graduate students through consistent advisement, engaging instruction, continuous program improvement and career placement.

If you would like to inquire about one of our programs or have a specific concern, complete an inquiry form here.

Counseling, Leadership, Literacy and Special Education/General Inquiry
Carmen Garcia, carmen.garcia2@lehman.cuny.edu
Isatou Fofana, isatou.fofana@lehman.cuny.edu


>
Spring 2021 Faculty Office Hours
Name Office Hours Contact Methods

Dr. Alyse Anekstein

Graduate Program Counselor Edu/school Counseling

Wednesdays: 3-4 p.m. (via Zoom) or by appointment

Alyse.Anekstein@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom information:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89830524699?pwd=djJCVVJkeStzWURuRXVkVFV5ak1WUT09

Meeting ID: 898 3052 4699
Passcode: Office

Dr. Sheila Blachman

Coordinator, Special Edu. Bilingual Graduate Program

Tuesdays: 2-4:00 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

Sheila.Blachman@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice: 860-740-2939

Zoom information:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/6644182038
Meeting ID: 664 418 2038

Dr. Stuart Chen-Hayes

Coordinator, Counselor Education/School Counseling and Bilingual Extension Graduate Program

Wednesdays: 3-5 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

StuartC@lehman.cuny.edu

Phone: 718-960-7304

Zoom information:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85666599995?pwd=TXFEK252Umd4Y0loWXJtbUZDODJzQT09
Meeting ID: 856 6659 9995
Passcode: 304230

Dr. Janet R. DeSimone

Department Chair
Coordinator, Organizational Leadership Graduate Program –HYBRID

Wednesdays: 4-5 p.m. or 6:30-7:30 p.m.

(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

Janet.Desimone@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice: 516-400-6255

Dr. Faith Deveaux

Graduate Program Counseling Education/School Counseling

On Leave

Faith.Deveaux@lehman.cuny.edu

Dr. Barbara Gottlieb

Coordinator, Childhood and Adolescent Special education Graduate Program

Tuesdays: 2 -4 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

Barbara.Gottlieb@lehman.cuny.edu

Phone: 914-269-8880

Dr. Harriet Fayne

Graduate Program Leadership Studies and Special Education

Thursdays: 7-9 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

Harriet.Fayne@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom information:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83960796593?pwd=L0ZYMnUxeFVyNnFjaTh1anBpS21IUT09

Dr. Julia Hood

Coordinator, Organizational  Leadership Graduate Program-ONLINE

Tuesdays & Thursdays: 3- 8 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment.

Julia.Hood@lehman.cuny.edu

Phone: 845-598-7666

Dr. Danielle Magaldi

Coordinator, Early Childhood Special education, and Advanced Certification in Special Education Graduate Program

Tuesdays: 2-4 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom)
and Wednesdays by appointment

Danielle.Magaldidopman@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice: 845-580-4098

Dr. Faith Muturia

Graduate Program Special Education

Tuesdays: 2-4 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

Faith.Muturia@lehman.cuny.edu

https://zoom.us/j/92154395810
Zoom Meeting ID: 921 5439 5810
Passcode: Officehour

Google Voice: 862-258-1455

Zoom information:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85004611619?pwd=ZHIxUlNlbUhxaXpCdUQvbEd1bFJEQT09
Meeting ID: 850-0461-1619
Passcode: 962605

Dr. Limor Pinhasi-Vittorio

Coordinator, Literacy Studies Graduate program

Thursdays: 6-7:30 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

Limor.Pinhasi-Vittorio@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom information:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84663264799?pwd=bjN3WHEwSTRyWGo1enNOY0ZENWdzdz09
Meeting ID: 846 6326 4799
Passcode: 244866

Dr. Gaoyin Qian

Graduate Program Literacy studies

Mondays: 7 -8 p.m. and
Wednesdays: 6-7pm (via Zoom)
or by appointment

Gaoyin.Qian@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom information:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88413502390?pwd=WUQ0YkV1VkQ0NXozOHZuS2h0aitMdz09

Dr. Rosa Rivera-McCutchen

Coordinator, Educational Leadership Graduate Program

Mondays: 3-4:30 p.m. & Thursdays: 5–6 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom)
or by appointment

RRivera@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice:  914-996-8244

Dr. Laura Roberts

Deputy Chair
Clinical Coordinator, Counselor Education/School Counseling Graduate Program

Wednesdays: 3 -5 p.m. (via Zoom)
or by appointment

Laura.Roberts@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom information:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/9509754395

Dr. Jennifer Van Allen

Graduate Program Literacy Studies

Tuesdays: 3–5 p.m. and 7-8p.m. (via Zoom or phone)
or by appointment

Jennifer.Vanallen@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom information:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7622709156
Meeting ID: 762 270 9156


School of Education Information

Email/phone office hours are 9:00 am – 5:00 pm unless otherwise noted (lunch hours will vary)

School of Education: Support Services for Student

School of Education: Additional Departments